In the Beginning…

I am a technology nut: I’ve literally spent my entire life around computers, having learned to read at the age of 4 operating a Commodore 64. Or so the story goes from my mother. Yet, I seem to be slow in adopting trends. I didn’t even bother to activate texting on my smartphone until about three years ago. I figured: it’s a cell phone; you pay for the freedom to call and talk at any time. What’s the point? Yes, I’ve learned the error of my ways.

Inspired by my friend Juan, I’ve decided that maybe it’s time to dip my toe into the blogging phenomenon. While convenient, I don’t think life can be rendered in its full majesty, complexity, beauty, and chaos, 140 characters at a time.

My primary goal is to use this as an outlet for my writing. Secondary to that is to give my friends and family, many of whom are many miles away, some insight into the thoughts and reasoning of the quiet cousin/nephew/friend at the back of the room. Tertiary to all that is the hope that perhaps, by example, I can help foster civil and thoughtful discussion on what can be highly contentious topics.

There is a quote from fiction that helps illuminate how I view the world: “The molecules of your body are the same molecules that make this station and the nebula outside, that burn inside the stars themselves. We are star-stuff. We are the Universe, made manifest, trying to figure itself out.”

Whether you believe in God, or you don’t, the fundamental truth is the same: we are all made in the same foundry of creation. As such I believe we all deserve the same respect that we are willing to give.

Bonus points to those of you who recognize both the Title name and quote from the 90’s sci-fi series “Babylon 5.”

Leave a Reply

